Friday, November 16, 2018
public schools

New Alexandria City School Board Formally Installed

Alexandria City Public School Board
As we told you, the new Alexandria City School Board were formally installed at a public induction at T.C. Williams High School on Thursday.

The new board, which will serve for a three-year-period, consists of five new members and four returning members. Incumbents Bill Campbell and Karen Graf were joined by newcomer Hal Cardwell representing District A. Cindy Anderson, Margaret Lorber and Veronica Nolan, all newcomers, took the oath to represent District B while incumbents Chris Lewis and Ronnie Campbell were joined by Ramee Gentry in District C.

Alexandria Circuit Court Judge Nolan B. Dawkins presided over the swearing-in part of the ceremony. The T.C. Williams choir sang the Star Spangled Banner, the T.C. Williams Jazz Band played during the reception, while two cellists from George Washington Middle School played duets while guests filed in.

The new board unanimously voted to retain Karen Graf as Chair and Chris Lewis as Vice-Chair at an organizational meeting that followed the swearing-in ceremony.  

“I am truly honored to continue in this role and to help support the Superintendent in his focus on a high-performing school division. I am committed to quickly helping our nine-member board function and develop sustainability for our policies and practices for the City of Alexandria. In the future, no matter who is sitting in these seats, our legacy will make it clear how to be an effective school board that sees every student succeed,” said Graf.

Superintendent Alvin L. Crawley congratulated newly installed Mayor Allison Silberberg and members of the City Council who were present at the ceremony. He also thanked former School Board members including Kelly Booz, Pat Hennig, Stephanie Kapsis, Justin Keating and Marc Williams for their dedication to the school division.

“We know it takes an incredible commitment, endless energy and sacrifices to govern a school division. Thank you for your faithful service and thank you for being champions for our students,” Dr. Crawley said.

Newly-installed Alexandria Mayor Allison Silberberg said, “I congratulate the current and new School Board and look forward to working closely with them, Superintendent Crawley and ACPS staff as we work to support and grow Alexandria’s educational system. I have great expectations for all students, as I said in my installation address, and ask them to study hard, get focused and stay focused.”

Chief Academic Officer Dr. Terri Mozingo and Chief Financial Officer Stacey Johnson were appointed as Superintendent Alvin L. Crawley’s designees to attend meetings in his absence.

See short bios of the School Board members at this link.

(Photo via @ACPSK12 on Twitter)

Leave a Reply


This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

Notify of